OHV Registration


Carter Powersports
Nevada OHV Information

Registration



Off-Highway Vehicle (OHV) registration is required in Nevada as of July 1, 2012. Applications are accepted by mail only at the OHV Section address listed on the forms. Dealers may submit the forms on your behalf. Decals are issued by the Department of Motor Vehicles by mail only. Applications are not accepted at DMV offices.


  • Vehicles purchased after July 1, 2012 must be registered and titled within 30 days of the purchase.
  • Vehicles purchased prior to July 1, 2012 must be registered by July 1, 2013. Titles are optional.

See the Frequently Asked Questions for more details.


How to Register Your OHV


  • A Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) inspection will have to be completed by a licensed Nevada OHV dealer or a sworn law enforcement officer if your vehicle has never been registered or titled in Nevada. See OHV Business License Verification for a list of licensed dealers.
  • The dealer who completes the inspection may submit the application and other documents on your behalf or you may mail them yourself. Dealers may charge up to $2 for each registration and/or title application submitted. Decals are issued by mail only.
  • The Nevada Certificate of Title, if issued, is processed separately from the registration decal. The DMV may contact you for additional information or proof of ownership. The title will be mailed to the lender or other lienholder, if any, or to the owner if there is no lienholder.

Registration forms and procedures differ depending on when and where your vehicle was purchased or whether it is homemade. Click on the appropriate link. Please read the applications and forms carefully.


Fees


Most of the registration funds go to benefit the OHV community in the form of trail improvements, public education and law enforcement.

Registration (annual renewal
required)
$20.00
Title for Nevada-based vehicles $28.25
Title if the vehicle is not registered or present in
Nevada
$43.25
VIN Assignment (if needed) $2.00
Dealer fee per registration or title application
submitted
(paid to dealer separately)
$2.00

If you would like our help to perform the complete registration process with the State of Nevada the following actions must be done and proper paperwork completed.

1. State of Nevada registration form must be filled out for each vehicle; the amount for one year registration is $20. per vehicle.

2. Each vehicle needs to have a vehicle identification number inspection done; the fee for this service is $10. per vehicle and must be completed by an employee that is registered and licensed with the State of Nevada.

3. The Notary fee for each vehicle’s paperwork is $5.

4. If the dealership has to complete both forms (the vehicle identification number inspection and the State registration form) then the dealership charges $5. per vehicle for this service.

5. We then send everything off to the Nevada DMV and you should receive your registration paperwork back in a few weeks.


OHVs Purchased Prior to July 1, 2012


Off-highway vehicles 1976 or newer must be registered. Vehicles purchased or built prior to July 1, 2012, must be registered by July 1, 2013. The application must be notarized. Please read and follow the instructions on the forms carefully.


You have the option of obtaining a title for an existing OHV. The Nevada Certificate of Title, if issued, will be processed and mailed separately. The DMV may contact you for additional information or proof of ownership.


OHVs Purchased From a Nevada Dealer On or After July 1, 2012

The vehicle must be registered within 30 days of the sale. The dealer will issue an OHV Report of Sale and you must enter the control number from this on the application. You may submit the application yourself or the dealer may do it for you. Dealers may charge additional fees of $2 each for the registration and title. Please read and follow the instructions on the forms carefully.



The dealer is responsible for submitting all documents required to create a Nevada Certificate of Title within 30 days of the sale. The title will be mailed to the lender or other lienholder, if any, or to the owner if there is no lienholder.


OHVs Purchased From a Out-of-State Dealer On or After July 1, 2012


The vehicle must be registered and titled within 30 days of the sale. You must have a VIN inspection completed by a licensed Nevada OHV dealer or a sworn law enforcement officer.


You must also obtain a Use Tax Clearance Certificate (Form APP-08.01) from the Nevada Department of Taxation.


Please read and follow the instructions on the forms carefully.



Please include the invoice, contract or Bill of Sale from the dealer and any existing title, Manufacturer’s Certiificate of Origin, security agreement or lease agreement. Out-of-state dealers must follow their state laws on sales taxes, titles and other procedures. Be sure to ask before you buy.


OHV Sales Between Private Parties On or After 7/1/12


The vehicle must be registered and titled within 30 days of the sale. You must have a VIN inspection completed unless the vehicle is already registered or titled in Nevada. The application must be notarized. Please read and follow the instructions on the forms carefully.



Please include any existing title, Manufacturer’s Certiificate of Origin or other proof of ownership. The Nevada Certificate of Title, if issued, will be processed and mailed separately. The DMV may contact you for additional information or proof of ownership.


Homemade OHVs


The VIN inspection and/or assignment for a homemade OHV or one constructed from a manufactured kit must be completed at a DMV Full Service office only. Dealers may not assign VINs. The cost of a VIN assignment is $2 in addition to any other fees due. The application must be notarized and submitted to the OHV Section by mail. Please read and follow the instructions on the forms carefully.



Please include any existing title, Manufacturer’s Certiificate of Origin or other proof of ownership. The Nevada Certificate of Title, if issued, will be processed and mailed separately. The DMV may contact you for additional information or proof of ownership.


All OHV Forms



The Department of Motor Vehicles processes registrations, titles and dealer licensing applications only. Questions on riding, trails, enforcement or other issues should be directed to the appropriate agencies in your local area or the Commission on Off-Highway Vehicles.